August 2020 Writing Show ONLINE – Sticking the Landing

You nailed the beginning, you got through the muddle of a middle, and now you’re ready to tie all the threads and themes into one pretty package. How do you include everything you need? Are there any rules for ending on a cliffhanger? Our panelists will share best practices for ending strong.

Panelists: S.A. Cosby (Shawn), Paula Gillison, Sharon Harrigan | Moderator: Bill Blume

Date: Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Time: 6:00 pm – 8:30 pm Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Location: Online, in the comfort of your own home. Via the Zoom Platform

Price: $10 – Members; $12 Non-members ($5 for students)

 

Registration closes on August 25; your unique link to join the online Zoom program will be emailed to you the the morning of the Writing Show.

All participants must register online to ensure you receive the link to the Zoom platform. This includes all-inclusive members, Writing Show members, and individual members wishing to use one of their free passes. 

Register Now

 

James River Writers is grateful

for the sponsorship of this program by

Crazy Rich Aliens, the new book by Jay Cannon

SPEAKERS

Shawn S.A. Cosby

Shawn S.A. Cosby

Shawn S. A. Cosby is an award-winning writer from southeastern Virginia. His work has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies.  His story, “The Grass Beneath My Feet” was awarded the 2019 Anthony award for best crime or mystery short story. His latest novel Blacktop Wasteland was released in July to international acclaim. When not writing, he is an avid whiskey connoisseur and movie fan.

Website: us.macmillan.com  Facebook: blacklionking73  Twitter: blacklionking73  

Paula Michelle Gillison

Paula Michelle Gillison

Paula Michelle Gillison is a Richmond performance artist & writer. Her work has been published by The Billie Holiday Theater & YHMAB. She’s a member of The Writer’s Den, Tuesday Verses, Slam Richmond and teaches at Life in Ten Minutes. Her blog “For Lack Of Better Words” is read internationally. The author of “Under” and “Parables & The Gold Plated Things,” she is currently completing a book of short stories & a self-help guide entitled So Shall You Slay.

Website: lackofbetter.com  Facebook: PGArtistry

Sharon Harrigan

Sharon Harrigan

Sharon Harrigan is the author of the new novel Half.  In a starred review, Booklist said, “Fans of Jeffrey Eugenides, Andre Dubus III, and Jane Smiley will adore Harrigan’s suspenseful, lyrical, and consuming exploration of two difficult lives, intertwined… Raw and powerful, Half will stay with you.” Publisher’s Weekly said, “Harrigan’s bold stylistic choices and memorable voice lend the novel a sense of mystery and magic, well suited to the themes of childhood fears and adult disillusionment. Riveting and inventive, this is a cut above the average coming of age tale.” Foreword Reviews called Half “gripping” and New York Journal of Books calls Half’s point of view “astonishingly effective.” Sharon is also the author of the memoir Playing with Dynamite. She teaches at WriterHouse in Charlottesville, Virginia, where she lives with her family.

Website:  sharonharrigan.net  Facebook: harrigan.sharon  Twitter: harrigan_sharon

MODERATOR

Bill Blume

Bill Blume

Bill Blume’s love for the written word started in high school with an addiction to comic books that was later hijacked by novels such as Frankenstein and Dragonflight. His short stories have been published in many fantasy anthologies and ezines. He’s the author of the Gidion Keep, Vampire Hunter series. Like the father figure in his novels, he’s worked as a 911 dispatcher for more than 15 years.

Website: billblume.net  Facebook: @BillWildcatBlume  Twitter: @billthewildcat